Each Hinduism symbol is related to the Hindu culture of Indians. Hinduism is an ancient culture.

Every Hinduism symbol has its own significance and meaning. Let’s see some important symbols and the essence of these symbols.

Hinduism Symbols

13 Sacred Hinduism Symbols Used by Hindus

Ancient Hinduism religious symbols are being still used by Hindu people with all respect, faith and love. Each symbol has its own importance and is used in cultural activities like pooja, meditation, and festivals of Hindus.

So, let’s see these Hinduism sacred symbols-


Om or Aum Symbol in Hinduism

Hinduism symbol om

In Hinduism ‘Om’ or ‘Aum’ is the most important sacred and spiritual symbol. The word ‘om’ is written in the Devanagari script in the Sanskrit language. This is found in many Hindu religious books.

It is also said that the ‘om’ is the sound or vibration of the universe. That is present everywhere. Hindus always use it while chanting payers or even meditating.


Swastika Symbol

Hinduism symbol swastika

The swastika is an ancient religious symbol in Hinduism. The word ‘swastika’ belongs to the Sanskrit language and this symbolizes good luck and prosperity in life.

The swastika is drawn with the lines right facing or clockwise direction. Hindus use this symbol in many cultural or religious activities such as marriage ceremonies, pooja, etc.


Shatkona Symbol

Hinduism symbol Shatkon

Shatkona is another powerful symbol that is often used in Hinduism. Shatkona symbol is a six-pointed star that includes two triangles in it. Hindus use this Shatkona symbol in the Hindu Yantra.

Shatkona represents feminine as well as male energy and also represents the Hindu God Sanat Kumar, who is the son of Shiv- Shakti.


Padma Symbol in Hinduism

Hinduism symbol

The Padma is also known as the lotus flower. The Padma is the Sanskrit word for lotus. This symbol plays a very important role in the yoga and the culture of Hinduism.

In Hinduism, the Padma is representing purity, enlightenment. Also, this symbol is used in different Indian art and rangoli designs.


Karma Hinduism Symbol

Hinduism symbol

In the Hindu holy book The Bhagavad Gita, Lord Krishna has talked deeply about karma. The meaning of Karma is ‘action’. According to the Gita, it is always important to do good karma.

‘The hand’ symbol represents karma. That means, our actions should be good and we get good results according to our karma. You can understand more about Karma if you read the Bhagavad Gita.


Dharma Chakra in Hinduism

Hinduism symbol Dharma

‘Dharma Chakra’ means the wheel of laws in Hinduism. The symbol includes the wheel that represents duty, work, righteousness.

According to Hindus, the wheel belongs to Lord Vishnu and it is known as Sudarshan Chakra. And the wheel symbol is used in many Hindu temples as well.



Hinduism symbols Trishul

Trishul is the tool of Hindu God Shiva. Trishul is a Sanskrit word that means, trident. This symbol represents the destruction of three problems in life that are related to physical, spiritual, ethereal.

Hindu god, who holds the Trishul destroys all the problems with this tool. Also, the lower part of the Trishul represents 3 elements – desire, knowledge and action. This means one should balance the desire and action to accomplish spiritual knowledge.



Hinduism symbol

Namaskara is the word derived from the Sanskrit word Namas. The meaning is bowing. Namaskara means two hands joined together to show respect.

In Indian culture, the namaskara is a hand gesture that is included in yoga practice. Hindu people and in Indian culture, people give respect to god and also other people with namaskara



Hinduism symbol Lotus

In Hinduism, the lotus is a flower that is a symbol of the divine. The Hindus believe that the lotus is a sacred flower and has its own importance.

Hindu goddesses like Lakshmi, Ganga, Ganesha use the lotus flower as their seats. In Vedas and ancient texts of Hindus, one can find the description related to a lotus.


Sri Yantra

Hinduism symbol Sri Yantra

Sri Yantra is used as a complex sacred geometry to worship in Hinduism culture. This symbol is also known as Sri Chakra.

Sri Yantra includes nine triangles. And various Hindu deities reside in these nine triangles of Sri Yantra. This Hindu symbol represents the whole cosmos in it and reflects the essence of non-duality.


Shiva Linga

Hinduism symbol Shiv Linga

The Shiva Linga is the symbol in Hinduism that represents the Hindu God Shiva. And this is a symbol that represents the union of male and female energy.

Linga word is derived from the Sanskrit word Lingam which means sign or symbol. Hindus worship Shiva Linga at temples.


Rudraksha Symbol

Hinduism symbol

Rudraksha is a bead that is used in prayer by Hindus. According to Hindu mythology, Shiva saw the suffering of people and then his tears falls down. Then the Rudraksha tree started to grow because of Lord Shiva’s tears.

The tree gives the round seeds that are known as Rudraksha. Hindus believe that the different gods reside in the Rudraksha.


The Veena

Hinduism symbol

Veena is a musical instrument of the Hindu Goddess Saraswati. This represents knowledge, art and learning. It is a divine musical instrument that Hindu gods use to express their emotions.

In Indian culture when you read about famous poets or old musicians like Kalidasa then you will find that the Veena was worshiped by these Hindu artists.

What is the main symbol of Hinduism?

Om and Swastika are the two main symbols of Hinduism. These are mainly used in the Hindu culture. These are the sacred symbols that are used in pooja also. Om is used in chanting and during meditation.

So, including these two main Hinduism symbols, now you know about all the 13 important symbols that reflect the Hindu culture and religion.